Apple addresses Flashback malware, working on software fix

Apple is working on a fix which will 'detect and remove' the Flashback malware from what is believed to be over 600,000 infected Macs. The comments represent the first time Apple has acknowledged the flaw

 

Apple has made its first public comments regarding the so-called Flashback Trojan, which has reportedly infected over 600,000 desktop and laptop Mac computers running OS X.

The Flashback botnet, which entered the public consciousness last week, is capable of collecting usernames and passwords and monitoring the web use of infected machines.

The Trojan, which arose due to a security hole in Oracle's Java software rather than any fault in OS X, can then perform many of the machines critial functions without the permission of the user.

Now Apple says it is working hard on a software fix, which will detect and remove Flashback from any computer that encounters the Trojan, while also joining forces with internet service providers in order to take down the servers which can command the affected Macs.

In a post on the Support section of the Apple website, the company said:  "A recent version of malicious software called Flashback exploits a security flaw in Java in order to install itself on Macs.

"Apple released a Java update on April 3, 2012 that fixes the Java security flaw for systems running OS X v10.7 and Mac OS X v10.6. By default, your Mac automatically checks for software updates every week, but you can change that setting in Software Update preferences. You can also run Software Update at any time to manually check for the latest updates.

"Apple is developing software that will detect and remove the Flashback malware.

"In addition to the Java vulnerability, the Flashback malware relies on computer servers hosted by the malware authors to perform many of its critical functions. Apple is working with ISPs worldwide to disable this command and control network.

"For Macs running Mac OS X v10.5 or earlier, you can better protect yourself from this malware by disabling Java in your web browser(s) preferences."

Apple had, so far, been loathe to acknowledge the existence of Flashback, but perhaps this response will ease the worries of Mac users concerned that their so-called virus-proof OS X device might actually be under threat.

Via: AllThingsD

Comments

Be the first to comment…

Back to top
Close
T3 Newsletter
Sign up to recieve the T3 newsletters by entering your details below

Your Details

As you're registering with us. we'd like to think that you'd enjoy receiving the following emails; if you'd rather not receive them, please untick the boxes:

I would like to receive other emails from T3, Future Publishing Limited and it's group companies containing news, special offers and product information
I agree to the terms of use and privacy policy and confirm that I am over 16 years of age *
Close
Log in or Join

By clicking below you agree to our terms and conditions and our privacy policy

Log in to T3.com with your preferred social network

Log in with your T3.com account

CloseJoinPlease complete these additional details

Join T3.com with your preferred social network

OR

Join T3.com

Please tick this box to confirm you are 16 years old or over

Just so we know you're human

Newsletters

I would like to receive T3 email newsletters, packed full of the latest tech news, competitions and exclusive offers.

I would like to receive other emails from T3, Future Publishing Limited and its group companies containing news, special offers and product information.

I would like to receive offers from carefully selected third Parties. We will not share your data with the third party.

Close Edit your profile

Change your password

Newsletters

I would like to receive T3 email newsletters, packed full of the latest tech news, competitions and exclusive offers.

I would like to receive other emails from T3, Future Publishing Limited and its group companies containing news, special offers and product information.

I would like to receive offers from carefully selected third Parties. We will not share your data with the third party.

Social networks

You have authorised these social networks to interact with your T3.com account.

Please ensure you deactivate or revoke access to this website from within your social networks settings to ensure all permissions are removed.

Close Forgotten your password

Forgotten your password?

Please enter the email address that you used to sign up and we'll send you a new password

Close
Forgotten password
Don't have a T3 Account? Join now