Facebook Places official

Tell your pals where you are and what you're up to with new Facey-B feature.

Facebook’s much-mooted Places feature has finally been given the official nod by Zuckerberg and co. The new feature allows you to tag yourself and pals into specific locations, telling the world where you are.

Initially, Facebook Places will only work on the social network’s iPhone app and touch.facebook.com, and then only in the US. When you check-in, your location will be shared with all your friends. If a pal tries to check you in, you’ll receive a notification, asking you whether to accept or decline, via a ‘not now’ button.

---------------------------------
Related links:
- Facebook - T3 Gadget Awards 2010
- Facebook for Android app review
- Facebook set to launch own music streaming service
---------------------------------

Already, though, Facebook is facing the ire of privacy campaigners, as Places requires you to opt out if you don’t want to get involved, rather than opt in. There’s not a ‘never’ button when a certain pal tries to check you in either, meaning you could face a barrage of notifications if one of your mates gets hooked on the service.

Facebook's press office has been in touch with us though and said the following, "There is a setting in the privacy settings under ‘things others share’ where you can select whether friends can check you in to places or not. You will not be ‘checked-in’ before you have used Places. In account settings, you can turn off email notifications for when people have checked you in. You could also block specific people so they will not be able to check you in. " It says this means the lack of a 'never' button can been circumvented. Facebook also says the default setting for Places will be 'friends only'.

The ‘Here Now’ feature allows pals you might not be with to see who’s tagged in the same location, theoretically so you can meet up. But concerns have already been raised about this information being shared amongst wider groups of people who you may only know tenuously online.

Facebook says Places is no different to being tagged in a photo, with similar controls to stop yourself being seen. But as it rolls out in the US and heads to Android and BlackBerry as promised, issues are bound to come up.

Is Facebook Places a good idea? Or does sharing your location sound like a bad call? Tell us you thoughts on Facebook and Twitter.

Comments

Be the first to comment…

Back to top
Close
T3 Newsletter
Sign up to recieve the T3 newsletters by entering your details below

Your Details

As you're registering with us. we'd like to think that you'd enjoy receiving the following emails; if you'd rather not receive them, please untick the boxes:

I would like to receive other emails from T3, Future Publishing Limited and it's group companies containing news, special offers and product information
I agree to the terms of use and privacy policy and confirm that I am over 16 years of age *
Close
Log in or Join

By clicking below you agree to our terms and conditions and our privacy policy

Log in to T3.com with your preferred social network

Log in with your T3.com account

CloseJoinPlease complete these additional details

Join T3.com with your preferred social network

OR

Join T3.com

Please tick this box to confirm you are 16 years old or over

Just so we know you're human

Newsletters

I would like to receive T3 email newsletters, packed full of the latest tech news, competitions and exclusive offers.

I would like to receive other emails from T3, Future Publishing Limited and its group companies containing news, special offers and product information.

I would like to receive offers from carefully selected third Parties. We will not share your data with the third party.

Close Edit your profile

Change your password

Newsletters

I would like to receive T3 email newsletters, packed full of the latest tech news, competitions and exclusive offers.

I would like to receive other emails from T3, Future Publishing Limited and its group companies containing news, special offers and product information.

I would like to receive offers from carefully selected third Parties. We will not share your data with the third party.

Social networks

You have authorised these social networks to interact with your T3.com account.

Please ensure you deactivate or revoke access to this website from within your social networks settings to ensure all permissions are removed.

Close Forgotten your password

Forgotten your password?

Please enter the email address that you used to sign up and we'll send you a new password

Close
Forgotten password
Don't have a T3 Account? Join now