Google Nexus 7 2 review

Google Nexus 7 2 review

T3 4
  • Google Nexus 7 2 review: With the highest resolution screen so far on a 7-inch tablet, can this Android device take on the the iPad Mini?  

    Google Nexus 7 2 review

    Love

    • Excellent screen
    • Easy one-handed use
    • Lightweight

    Hate

    • Lack of tablet-optimised apps
    • Fussy over charging
    • Android still not optimised

    Update:The Google Nexus 7 2 release date has been confirmed as 28 August 2013, around a month after the device was launched in the US. The new Nexus 7 will be priced at £199.99 for the 16GB version and £239.99 for the 32GB model.

    The original Google Nexus 7 by Asus really kickstarted the market for the mini tablet, and was launched well before Apple’s iPad mini, pitting it against the Kindle Fire. With this second generation, Google has really declared war on the iPad mini - and with a screen that’s the highest resolution in its class.

    While Apple reportedly struggles to make a mini with a Retina display, Google and Asus have unleashed the new Nexus 7 2 with a jaw-dropping 1920x1200 display such to turn Apple green with envy.

    In fact, it’s not just the screen that’s had a major upgrade. Gone is the slightly tacky rubber back, replaced with a much smoother, grippy rear surface and new, sleek black lines that make this look, well, cool - something unheard of in the Android tablet market until now.

    The Nexus 7 is, without doubt, the best non-Apple tablet on the market. The speed, screen and attention to detail make it head and shoulders above the rest, and nipping at Apple in terms of design and feel.

    It’s easy to use and hold in one hand, and thanks to the placement of the speakers, also an excellent portable media viewer, managing to eclipse even the Kindle Fire HD and the bedtime tablet of choice (and much more portable than the iPad 4, Apple’s big boy tablet which has a comparable Retina screen).

    For owners of the original Nexus, this is also worth a look - it's a complete overhaul rather than an upgrade, and one look at the gorgeous screen in action will have you rushing to Google’s site to order.

    Nexus 7: Features

    Along with the high resolution 7-inch screen, the newest Nexus boast s 16 or 32GB of storage, along with wifi and, in the US a 4G LTE version (although it is unclear if this will arrive in the UK).

    There’s also a front 1.2 megapixel camera and, unlike the first version, a rear camera as well, with a 5 megapixel sensor. There’s a micro USB port for charging, although you’ll need to use the supplier wall charger to get the most effective charge.

    • http://media.t3.com/img/resized/ne/xs_Nexus-7-2013-4-624.jpg
    • http://media.t3.com/img/resized/ne/xs_Nexus-7-2013-5-624.jpg
    • http://media.t3.com/img/resized/ne/xs_Nexus-7-2013-6-624.jpg
    • http://media.t3.com/img/resized/ne/xs_Nexus-7-2013-7-624.jpg
    • http://media.t3.com/img/resized/ne/xs_Nexus-7-2013-8-624.jpg
    • http://media.t3.com/img/resized/ne/xs_Nexus-7-2013-lead-624.jpg
    • http://media.t3.com/img/resized/ne/xs_Nexus-7-2013-1-624.jpg
    • http://media.t3.com/img/resized/ne/xs_Nexus-7-2013-2-624.jpg
    • http://media.t3.com/img/resized/ne/xs_Nexus-7-2013-3-624.jpg
    • http://media.t3.com/img/resized/ne/xs_nexus-7-2013-624.jpg
    • http://media.t3.com/img/resized/ne/xs_nexus-7-2-youtube-624.jpg

Comments

Be the first to comment…

Back to top
Close
T3 Newsletter
Sign up to recieve the T3 newsletters by entering your details below

Your Details

As you're registering with us. we'd like to think that you'd enjoy receiving the following emails; if you'd rather not receive them, please untick the boxes:

I would like to receive other emails from T3, Future Publishing Limited and it's group companies containing news, special offers and product information
I agree to the terms of use and privacy policy and confirm that I am over 16 years of age *
Close
Log in or Join

By clicking below you agree to our terms and conditions and our privacy policy

Log in to T3.com with your preferred social network

Log in with your T3.com account

CloseJoinPlease complete these additional details

Join T3.com with your preferred social network

OR

Join T3.com

Please tick this box to confirm you are 16 years old or over

Just so we know you're human

Newsletters

I would like to receive T3 email newsletters, packed full of the latest tech news, competitions and exclusive offers.

I would like to receive other emails from T3, Future Publishing Limited and its group companies containing news, special offers and product information.

I would like to receive offers from carefully selected third Parties. We will not share your data with the third party.

Close Edit your profile

Change your password

Newsletters

I would like to receive T3 email newsletters, packed full of the latest tech news, competitions and exclusive offers.

I would like to receive other emails from T3, Future Publishing Limited and its group companies containing news, special offers and product information.

I would like to receive offers from carefully selected third Parties. We will not share your data with the third party.

Social networks

You have authorised these social networks to interact with your T3.com account.

Please ensure you deactivate or revoke access to this website from within your social networks settings to ensure all permissions are removed.

Close Forgotten your password

Forgotten your password?

Please enter the email address that you used to sign up and we'll send you a new password

Close
Forgotten password
Don't have a T3 Account? Join now