Apple Watch Series 6 and iPad Air 4 event announced – mark your calendars

Apple preps to reveals its new tech ahead of the iPhone 12 launch

Apple Watch Series 5
(Image credit: Apple)

Apple's product release schedule has taken a bit of a hit this year with the pandemic, and the tech giant has already confirmed that its flagship iPhone 12 series will suffer a delayed launch which may see a staggered release of the four smartphone models.

However, it still has the Apple Watch Series 6 and the rumoured iPad Air 4 set for release before the end of the year, and here's when we'll get to see them.

Twitter leaker Jon Prosser suggested that Apple would be sending out a press release today with details of the two products in lieu of a bona fide event, and saving the fanfare for the iPhone 12 launch event that he says has been pushed back from its usual September slot to October.   

However, in a rare occurrence, Prosser wasn't quite on the nose; rather than dropping a press release for the Apple Watch Series 6 and iPad Air 4, Apple has instead announced its Apple Event set for 10AM PDT/ 1PM EST/ 6PM BST on Tuesday, September 15.      

See more

We don't know what Apple will be showcasing, but we're either looking at two events: one for the new Apple Watch and iPad this month, with an iPhone 12 event to follow in October, or a single event that will dive into the rest of Apple's 2020 product lineup in one fell swoop.   

According to Prosser, it'll be the former, but take it with a pinch of salt for now. 

Shabana Arif
Shabana Arif

Shabana is T3's Tech and Gaming News Editor, and has been writing about (and playing) video games for years. Her pile of shame is huge, but only because there are so many games, and so little time; she prefers to think of it as video game tapas, which explains a lot. She loves RPGs and zombie games, and exhaustively researches romance options. For science.