Facebook founder Mark Zuckerberg claims T3 Award

T3 Gadget Awards 2011: Mark Zuckerberg crowned Tech Personality of the Year

Image 1 of 3 Mark Zuckerberg
Mark Zuckerberg
Image 2 of 3 blank
Mark Zuckerberg
Image 3 of 3 Mark Zuckerberg and Facebook logo
Mark Zuckerberg

Facebook's somewhat quiet frontman Mark Zuckerberg has been thrust into the limelight during the past year having been portrayed in The Social Network and now claiming a T3 Gadget Award

Facebook founder and CEO Mark Zuckerberg has been crowned the 2011 Tech Personality of the Year at the T3 Gadget Awards following his rise into the public eye after Hollywood depicted the birth of Facebook in The Social Network.

Going up against former T3 Award winners Stephen Fry and Suzi Perry Zuckerberg has been honoured by the T3 readers and Awards judges for actively changing the way the world communicates, builds and maintains relationships and shares information.

The world’s second youngest billionaire, 28-year-old Zuckerberg has been transformed over the past 12 months from a reclusive head of the world’s leading social networking site to a figure recognised across the globe as the mind behind Facebook.

Facebook Features

Allowing users to keep in touch with friends, colleagues and acquaintances Facebook has risen from a leading social network to become one of the most visited websites in the world and a credible tool for companies, businesses and individuals alike.

Constantly evolving to keep ahead of the trends Facebook has been updated multiple times over the past year with the latest changes completely re-jigging the news feed to combine new content with updates Facebook believes will be of most interest to each individual user.

“The main reason Facebook has succeeded is because the founder stays with it,” said Emma Barnett, Digital Media Editor at the Telegraph and T3 Gadget Awards judge. “It’s him on the floor with developers. His personality is evident throughout Facebook.”

Is Mark Zuckerberg a suitable selection to win the Tech Personality of the Year Award or would you have handed it to someone else? Let us know via the comments box below.